See Vancouver

Bringing Greater Vancouver together

AirCare Program

I had just tested my automobile at the AirCare Facility recently.

AirCare is a clean-air initiatives taken by the Province of British Columbia to reduce harmful emissions from automobiles. However, the AirCare program is isolated for Greater Vancouver and the Fraser Valley only.

The main goal of this program is to “identify excessively polluting vehicles and require that they be repaired.”

There are three regulated pollutants they look for: Hydrocarbons (HC), Carbon Monoxide (CO), and Oxides of Nitrogen. By regulating these three pollutants, the AirCare program improves air quality.

If a vehicle does not pass AirCare, they could not be insured. Ultimately, this results in the vehicle not able to be driven. For your information, a vehicle that is not insured in British Columbia cannot be driven legally. The fine associated with un-insured vehicle is around $250.

If a vehicle does not pass, a temporary insurance can be issued to have the vehicle repaired and retested.


While I was at the centre, my car was basically on a dyno machine while it was hooked up with two suction hoses on my exhaust. My vehicle is driven to 40 km/hr over 30 seconds and it measures my driving emissions. Afterwards, they measured my idling emissions.

In the end, I received a report that I can bring to my insurance company to renew my insurance.

June 9, 2008 Posted by | lifestyle, Other | | Leave a comment