See Vancouver

Bringing Greater Vancouver together

Meteor Shower

Since I was small, I have been interested in astronomy. I find that the universe is such a vast place and that we on earth is only a mere speck of galaxy matter floating in space. I dreamed of becoming an astronomer when I younger but I couldn’t get into the faculty at the University of British Columbia. So at nights, I would gaze upwards in the sky and ponder on what the universe contains. So I did a quick internet search the other day and found out specific days for meteor showers. Perseids is right around the corner in our Northern Hemisphere and should be visibly seen at night time. The following picture was taken from here.

The following insert is taken from wikipedia:

Perseids

The shower is visible from mid-July each year, with the greatest activity between August 8 and 14, peaking about August 12. During the peak, the rate of meteors reaches 60 or more per hour. They can be seen all across the sky, but because of the path of Swift-Tuttle’s orbit, Perseids are primarily visible in the northern hemisphere.

I’ll keep posting Meteor shower notices when the time comes.

August 13, 2008 - Posted by | Entertainment, Things to See | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment