See Vancouver

Bringing Greater Vancouver together

Seattle Premium Outlet

One of the great things about living in Greater Vancouver is that the 49th parallel is a 40 minute drive away from Vancouver. The 49th parallel essentially for the most part of North America is the Canada-United States of America border. This means that we can get across the border and do a bit of sightseeing or shopping in USA without much planning.

On one of my previous days off, we headed to the Seattle Premium Outlet.

Located at 10600 Quil Ceda Blvd., Tulalip, Washington, the Seattle Premium Outlet is approximately 300 km from the Greater Vancouver. Driving at the speed limit to get to the Outlet would take approximately 1.5 hours plus waiting time at the Borders. Since the US Border Protection at the Peace Arch border is under construction, it is at half capacity. As such, I was stuck in line waiting to get to USA for a good hour or so. I strongly recommend in bringing some entertainment.

Once you pass the border (Peace Arch), however, it is a long drive at 80-90 Miles per Hour. The picture below is the structure you will see at the Peace Arch border that represents the gate into the other country.

The outlet is full of name brand store like Nike, Puma, Juicy, Zoo York, Converse, Coach, and so forth. Many of them have pretty decent deals that are at a better price than in Canadian stores. Numerous news articles stated that American prices are better than Canadian prices overall. After this trip I sure learned why. Many items here at the outlet would have cost 20% or more if I were to purchase them in Greater Vancouver.

Always carry more money than what you anticipate to spend because I sure wished I carried more cash with me so I didn’t have to resort to my cards.

So at the end of the day when I’m returning to Canada, I don’t mind paying the Canadian taxes because overall I would have saved myself money anyways. The picture below is taken when I was waiting in line at the Peace Arch Park to return back to Canada.

For more information, check out the Outlet’s website here.

July 13, 2008 - Posted by | Entertainment, Places, Shopping, Things to See |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

